Society Contacts

If you would like to contact us please see the relevant committee member contacts here.

Andrew Bush
Hon. Chair

Paper conservator working for the National Trust, especially interested in conservation and techniques of production.

Send an email

Christine Woods
Hon. Vice-Chair and Editor of The Wallpaper History Review

Former Curator (Wallpapers) at the Whitworth Art Gallery, University of Manchester. Research interests: the UK wallpaper industry, organisation, production, marketing and cultural significance 1870-1970.

Send an email

Phillippa Mapes
Hon. Secretary

Qualified conservator of historic wallpapers, and former preventative conservator for English Heritage. Currently studying for a PhD at Leicester University in the history of the 18th Century wallpaper trade.

Send an email

Farrell Tumelty
Hon. Membership Secretary and Treasurer

Former Product & Production manager with over 30 years experience wallpaper manufacture, particularly roto-gravure and rotary screen printing. Especially interested in surface printed designs and wallpapers c1920-1950’s.

Send an email

Sharon J Whitehurst
General Enquiries

Sharon J Whitehurst has been producing bespoke hand crafted wallpapers and fabrics for many years. She started her first studio at Maws Craft Centre in Shropshire after studying printed textiles at Royal College of Art. The studio is renowned for their bold colours and graphic simplicity combined with traditional screen printing methods.

Send an email

Nicky Hancock
Hon. Website Editor

Specialist decorator, furniture painter and gilder with 2 decades of experience working in residential interiors. Restores and retails an eclectic range of  in 19th-mid 20th century furniture and home accessories from her shop and studio in Leek Staffordshire. Particularly interested in the history of colour in interior decoration, decorative paint finishes and pattern design.

Send an email

Michelle Ledward
Committee Member 

Chemist working as Head of Research & Development at Graham and Brown Ltd, interested in production techniques and ink technology.

Send an email

Stephen Levrant
Committee Member

Architect specialising exclusively in historic built environment. Principal of Heritage Architecture, long standing committee member with a particular interest in embossed finishes, and interiors.

Send an email

Matthew Meadows
Committee Member

Artist, curator and writer working with prison arts (Freeflow Arts) with a creative practice mostly concerned with hand-printed wallpaper dealing with political/commemorative themes.

Send an email